you're reading...
Uncategorized

My New Email Strategy and a Tip to Make Siri Useable


Have you ever missed an important email on your iPhone or iPad? In the flood of incoming emails busy entrepreneurs can easily skip over an important email. In my case, it’s almost always an email alerting me to a voicemail at the office or on my cell phone. At the office, I get an email from our ShoreTel voicemail system alerting me to a voicemail. I can play the voicemail directly from the email link. On my cell, I use Google Voice to get transcripts of my voicemails sent to my email – I never check my voicemail inbox. The downside of relying on emails to get voicemails is that I often skip over them on my phone. I’ve also missed important emails from my partners or family members – not all senders of email are ranked the same in my life (and in yours, no doubt).

Apple released the VIP inbox feature with IOS 6 and it’s pretty handy in making sure the important people in your life get priority treatment in your email inbox. If you click on All Mailboxes within your iPhone email, you’ll see a box called VIP. If you click VIP, it gives you the option of ranking certain of your contacts as VIP’s. After you’ve designated which of your contacts are VIP’s, all emails from that sender will be routed to your VIP mailbox. They also go to your regular inbox with a star next to them. You can also add a notification chime for all VIP’s. It takes less than 2 minutes to create your list of VIP’s and you’re much less likely to miss an important email on your iPhone.

I’m hoping that the notification system will empower me to stop constantly checking my email and become more productive in my work life and more present in my family time…we’ll see.

One other tip: add nicknames to your most frequent cell phone contacts. Go to Contacts, Edit Contact, Add a field, Add Nickname. After you’ve added a nickname, you can tell Siri to call the nickname and she’ll have a near-perfect track record of recognizing the name and calling the correct person. It’s made Siri useable for me.

Tim O’Loughlin

Eastward Capital Partners

432 Cherry Street

West Newton, MA 02465

o: (617) 762-3611

c: (617) 947-6272

http://www.eastwardcp.com

How to Evaluate Venture Debt Alternatives

http://www.linkedin.com/in/venturedebt

LinkedIn Blog Facebook Twitter

Eastward Capital Partners – providing $1 – 10 million venture debt, growth capital and equipment financing to venture-backed, emerging growth companies since 1994. We also provide expansion capital to non venture backed companies.

This e-Mail and any attachments contain privileged and confidential information of Eastward and may be accessed and read only by the intended recipients. Any further distribution or reproduction of this material by recipients, or use for any purpose not authorized by Eastward, is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient and this e-mail and attachments have been sent or passed on to you in error, please destroy the same and contact us immediately. Confidentiality and privilege are not lost by this transmission having been sent or passed on to you in error. Eastward is not liable for any damage that may be caused by viruses or transmission errors.

About venturedebt

venture debt firm providing growth capital for emerging growth companies

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 244 other followers

Tim O’Loughlin

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 244 other followers

