you're reading...
Health & Fitness, humor, Sempre, Uncategorized

Fond Memories of McDonald’s


It was around this time last year when I had my last meal at McDonald’s. I remember it fondly. At the time I was partnered with Bob Fleming and Mike Feinstein trying to get Sempre off the ground. We had our regularly scheduled partners’ meetings on Tuesday afternoons. Why Tuesday afternoons? …because our gracious hosts at Foley Hoag had served free lunch to their “entrepreneurs in residence” on Tuesdays.

On one memorable day last year, we had to move our partners’ meeting to a Wednesday. I was running late and had to grab a quick bite before the meeting. As I rounded the hilltop on route 9 in Natick, there they were – those magical golden arches. This proved to be no ordinary day at Micky D’s as you’ll read in a moment. As I order my usual …a number 2, large please (that’s a quarter pounder with cheese and a large fry for those vegans amongst you), I heard a magical question from the loud-speaker…”Would you like a second quarter pounder for a penny?”

Would I?!!! Of course, who would pass that up? I savored every last morsel…then I looked up the calorie count online. McDonald’s publishes a pdf entitled “Nutrition Facts for Popular Menu Items.” They don’t make it all that easy for you to see it. It’s a 17 page pdf that you need to download first. Here’s what I found: Quarter Pounder with Cheese – 510 calories, 42 grams of fat (each) plus the fries – 500 calories, 25 grams of fat for a grand total of…drum roll please …1,520 calories and 109 grams of great tasting fat. (plus 2,730 mgs of sodium – that’s 2 day supply)

For lunch today, I had a salad (no dressing, no cheese). I have a conspiracy theory that eating lettuce actually makes you fat. Think about it! People eat huge amounts of lettuce – a food with the consistency and flavor of grass clippings…and they don’t get any closer to their target weights over time.

I miss McDonald’s. At least they were honest with me.

Tim O’Loughlin

Eastward Capital Partners

432 Cherry Street

West Newton, MA 02465

o: (617) 762-3611

c: (617) 947-6272

http://www.eastwardcp.com

blog: https://venturedebt.wordpress.com/

LinkedIn Profile: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/timothy-o-loughlin/1/aa6/687

Eastward Capital Partners – providing $1 – 10 million venture debt, growth capital and equipment financing to venture-backed, emerging growth companies since 1994. We also provide expansion capital to non venture backed companies.

About venturedebt

venture debt firm providing growth capital for emerging growth companies

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 283 other followers

Tim O’Loughlin

